A lot of movies and a headache

Ah, It’s been a hectic last 2  3 days with me squeezing in at least 4  7 full movies not to mention a gazillion others in bits and pieces on HBO.

Firstly, Scoop. Bit disappointing really.  Extremely anticlimatic and not very good in the continuity department I’m afraid. But Scarlett Johansson looks lovely as usual, Hugh Jackman is sincerely entertaining and Woody as usual gets in some killer lines( “I used to be of the Hebrew persuasion, but as I got older, I converted to narcissism.”). Also there is no flirtation between Woody and Johansson which is a relief. Not excellent, but certainly better anything you’ll ever see with Ben Stiller or Rob Schneider in it.

Dead Poets Society certainly deserves everything I’ve heard about it. This has to be right up there with American Beauty as the best movies I’ve ever seen (We’re excluding all risque comedies here of course :)). And if u don’t get emotionally charged – which is NOT  equivalent to crying(!) – when Neil shoots himself(“My son, my son!”) or just before the credits roll(“Thank you boys, thank you”) well then you’re sadly probably just too cool for school…..

 ‘The Prestige’ is a mighty interesting movie. Christopher Nolan and Christian Bale is a combination which simply can’t get stale and adding Hugh Jackman and Scarlett Johansson to the mix can do you no harm. Interestingly, Jackman and Johansson also star in Scoop which has a magician as well. It’s about rival magicians in 19th century and open to multiple interpretations, which I just love.  Also loved the non-linear style of presentation with both men reading each others diaries. I do intend to watch Memento soon….

 Kabul Express is certainly much better than the usual bunkum we get from Bollywood . The problem was I felt that they tried to hard to make it like a Hollywood movie right from the trailer. Excellent cinematography and a nice score make up for a most anticlimatic end. And oh yeah, they could have saved a ton of money if they had simply put a walking stick in place of Johnny boy who continues to be irritating as hell.

 Bhagam Bhag. Usual Priyadarshan shit. Govinda is sad. Cliched, but I can’t help saying this – ‘Nuff said. Better watch it at a run down single screen theatre if you do at all. Certainly not worth the astronomical multiplex ticket rates….. and I haven’t even got over the 180 bucks I spent wasted on Dhoom 2.

Snakes on a Plane is a really excellent movie, in THAT sense of the word. I wish I’d seen it with a bunch of friends in a theatre. Samuel Jackson totally rules! Fun, fun movie. You’ll need to be very tight-assed not to enjoy this.

And finally I must add, for the first time in two years I’m actually waiting for the weekend so I can catch some Premiership action. The race is heating up and I hope they maintain this tempo over the holiday season. Boxing Day should be fun now with two cricket matches and an evening of football to look forward to as well…..

3 thoughts on “A lot of movies and a headache

  1. sukanya January 4, 2007 / 7:45 pm

    so someone besides me actually noticed the score (kabul express)

    nice blog 😀
    (got your link off raghav btw)

  2. ameoba88 January 5, 2007 / 10:29 am

    Have I come across your blog sometime, somewhere? Your name seems familiar. Would be obliged if you’d give a link…

Leave a Reply

