Calcutta and some important people die

So Steve Jobs is dead. Going by the furore on the world wide web, you’d think some Indian icon died. I think he was a marketing genius more than someone who revolutionized the technology industry, with the iPod he created an entirely new market for a music player/walkman, a product that had essentially been around for a couple of decades. And despite it’s ups and downs, the Mac is still not the market leader. He made Apple products cool, cutting edge, different and therefore aspirational. Probably played a huge role in the introduction of minimalist design. But there’ve probably been better technological breakthroughs which haven’t taken off. Steve Jobs’ marketing savvy was what won the day for him I guess. But then what do I know? I’ve never bought a single Apple product in my entire life. Still not thoroughly comfortable with an iPod. And as The Count said yesterday at Dadu’s, still belong to that category which looks at Mac users with a certain element of awe…the way they slide those fingers on the touchpad is something else I tell you….

Edit: Since I first started writing this some days ago Jagjit Singh and Dennis Ritchie have also left us. Jagjit Singh will always remind me of 2001, when we had only a few songs on the new desktop and actually copying songs from someone was a big deal. Our computer engineer Mr. Telkar had passed on some 10 odd songs of Jagjit Singh which dad would play over and over again. And of course that is an age where you simply do not like to like anything your parents do (wannabe anti-establishment type I was, not like my brother who’s properly anti-establishment!). But over a period of time I grew into not minding him (Jaggu I believe I called him condescendingly after our school PE teacher) so much. I haven’t listened to anything Jagjit Singh since, in fact nothing on my cell phone either…but a vital part of early teenage for sure!

Oh Calcutta! A rushed trip (defined as one which after yes-ing and no-ing for a day, finally confirmed an hour and a half before the train left), but nice to have one trip finally since coming over to Jampot. My stereotypical intutions about our eastern brethren only get stronger by the day! I’d gone expecting something very similar to Ganpati in Mumbai, ended up being quite surprised. No one prays at these huge pandals, people just deck up in their finest, move from one place to the other and click tons of photographs. Obviously security issues are not so big here. Or as The Great N said, not allowing photographs is probably an issue of vanity as well (if you wanna see it, come here and see it). But the amount of effort put into putting up these pandals is immense, must be months and months of work….beats most of the Ganpati aaras hands down.

A couple of days prior went ‘pandal hopping’ (quite a ubiquitous term in this part of the world) in sleepy little Jamshedpur. For a change the town was alive after 11 PM in the night. Giant Wheel after god knows how many years. It’s scarier than you’d think it is though! Good fun though

And as someone’s status message said, It’s that time of the year again! The campus is all decked and lighted up,  suits and boots all around, shortlists and CV’s everywhere. Perhaps a longer post on this sometime soon.  One thing keeps bugging me while speaking to people though: ‘I have grown up so much in 1 year!’ Question is, do I really believe that?

Leave a Reply

