RK Narayan – Under The Banyan Tree & Other Stories (#17 of 52)

My first memories of RK Narayan are unlike most Indians of my generation – not the TV series Malgudi Days set in the eponymous town of Malgudi, but a small set of stories called Swami and Friends which I must have read in primary school. And although I don’t remember the finer details, it was a book that has stayed stuck in memory, a young boy crazy about cricket as he grows up in a town middle-class India.

RK Narayan’s wonderful set of short stories – Under the Banyan Tree, is what I’d like to classify as comfort reading. Because it seems achingly relate-able, warmly inviting and enticing the reader into its world, minus the shame of a voyeur. It is set in a milieu of the 1950’s to 1980’s I assume, in small towns across South India – which is I’m sure a world away from the India which we inhabit today. And yet, it draws you in with the constants of everyday life, the way we think and interact with each other – those which may never change – which is why in the opening note Narayan speaks about the timelessness of short stories.41704z0bp8l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

The prose is simple yet elegant, the characters are often weird or flawed but definitely believable. Most of these stories are what they call ‘slice-of-life’ tales – there is often no head or tail, no moral at the end, no lesson to be learnt. It’s just a colourful and detailed picture into the life of people around you.

I read it over the period of a month – in cabs when stuck in traffic, in the nights before I dozed off, in crowded metro trains and never once did it seem to be a task to read it. I could pick up a story from anywhere and it would happily crackle to life, reinvigorating the dormant data-point from the recesses of my mind. I wished it could go on and on and I could return to it whenever I wanted something comfortable, which reminded me of home – like dal-chawal and ghar-ki-chai – this is ‘comfort literature’ at its very best.

Entertainment Quotient : ★★★★★
Education Quotient : ★★★★
Readability : ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

